Opioid Crisis

To date, 72 of the state’s 75 counties have signed on to pursue litigation against drug companies. Cities and towns are strongly represented in the litigation, as well.

Arkansas county prescription rates in 2016.

AAC, AML, APERMA form unified front against manufacturers of prescription painkillers

THURSDAY, FEB. 1, 2018

LITTLE ROCK — Counties and cities across Arkansas are poised to hold accountable the nation’s leading pharmaceutical companies over their misleading and deceptive marketing of prescription opioid painkillers.

In a unique and strategic move, the Association of Arkansas Counties (AAC), Arkansas Municipal League (AML), and Arkansas Public Entities Risk Management Association (APERMA) have retained the same outside law firms to pursue litigation against the drug companies on behalf of the local governments of Arkansas. Read more.

Opioids in Arkansas

AAC forms five-member Opioid Task Force

Sebastian County sheriff joins AAC Opioid Task Force

Sebastian County near top of state for many opioid-related issues

Governmental groups form unified front against manufacturers of prescription painkillers

Arkansas AG: Fight against opioid abuse starts at home

Narcan kits donated to fight opioid deaths

LRPD 'concerned' after more die from drug overdoses in 2018

Rutledge ramps up investigation of opioid manufacturers

Deadly drug looms over central Arkansas

Opioids making an impact on illegal street drugs

Independence County tops list for Narcan use

Gov. Hutchinson announces state's Naloxone standing protocol

Arkansas has nation's second-highest rate of opioid prescriptions

Drug director announces office has received federal grants to reduce opioid overdose deaths

Opioids in the U.S.

Opioid crisis affects all Americans, rural and urban

U.S. life expectancy falls for second straight year — as drug overdoses soar

Opioid Resources

Arkansas Drug Takeback

Arkansas Department of Health

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

National Association of Counties

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Institute for Healthcare Improvement

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration

AAC Opioid Task Force Members

Pulaski County Coroner Gerone Hobbs

Saline County Judge Jeff Arey

Sebastian County Sheriff Bill Hollenbeck

Union County Sheriff Ricky Roberts

Washington County Circuit Clerk Kyle Sylvester

Craighead County Treasurer Terry McNatt

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800

Guardian Pro RFID and AAC Risk Management Fund mitigate risks for Arkansas jails