JP Paul Elliott receives national appointment

Pulaski County Justice of the Peace appointed to NACo Justice & Public Safety Steering Committee

LITTLE ROCK— Pulaski County Justice of the Peace Paul Elliott has been appointed to serve on the National Association of Counties’ (NACo) Justice and Public Safety Steering Committee. The appointment lasts for one year, from Aug. 1, 2018 through July 31, 2019.

NACo steering committee members play a critical role in advancing legislative and policy priorities important to the nation’s counties. Specifically, steering committee members help to establish the goals and policy priorities of the association.

The Justice and Public Safety Steering Committee has jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to the judicial system and public safety, including ​criminal justice planning, law enforcement, courts, corrections, homeland security, community crime prevention, juvenile justice and delinquency prevention, emergency management, fire prevention and control, and civil disturbances.​

Throughout the year, committee members participate in regular conference calls and receive email updates from NACo staff to stay up to date on matters relevant to the committee’s work. At NACo’s Legislative and Annual Conferences, the policy steering committees meet to hear federal policy updates, discuss best practices and vote on proposed policy resolutions.

Mr. Elliott represents the 14th District on the Pulaski County Quorum Court. He first took office in 2011 and is serving his fourth term as Justice of the Peace. Mr. Elliott serves as vice president of the Arkansas Association of Quorum Courts.

About the Association of Arkansas Counties

The AAC supports and promotes the idea that all elected officials must have the opportunity to act together in order to solve mutual problems as a unified group. To further this goal, the AAC is committed to providing a single source of cooperative support and information for all counties and county and district officials.

The overall purpose of the association is to work for the improvement of county government in the state of Arkansas. The association accomplishes this purpose by providing legislative representation, on-site assistance, general research, training, various publications and conferences to assist county officials in carrying out the duties and responsibilities of their office.

The AAC Board of Directors is comprised of 18 members — two representatives elected by each of nine member associations.


Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800