White County

White County was formed in 1835, by the Territorial Legislature from parts of Jackson, Pulaski, and Independence counties. It was named for Hugh Lawson White, a U.S. Senator from Tennessee. The county seat is Searcy. The landscape of the county is rolling hills north, the foothills of the Ozarks and Ouachitas in the west, and rich, flat, delta farmland in the southeast. The economic base of the county is diverse, with row crops of milo, wheat, soybeans, rice; blueberries, and table grapes; livestock, poultry, and coastal Bermuda grass hay; and a wide range of manufacturing and service industries including a Wal-Mart Distribution Center. Harding University at Searcy, Arkansas State University at Beebe, and Arkansas State University at Searcy draw hundreds of students from all parts of the country. White County has varied recreational opportunities. The Hurricane Lake Wildlife Management Area, and the White and Little Red rivers offer hunting and fishing and water recreation. The White County Courthouse, built in 1871, is said to be the oldest functional courthouse in Arkansas. It has an elaborate clock tower that resembles the Liberty Bell and dates back to 1855. A statue located on the southeast corner of the court square honors Confederate Soldiers. A newer statue, built of six tons of granite on the courthouse lawn, honors the soldiers of White County who died in World War I, World War II, and the Korean War, with each soldier’s name inscribed on the monument. A Vietnam War memorial also sits on the courthouse grounds. A fire in the courthouse some years ago necessitated extensive repair, and the courtroom was restored to its original 19th-century look, with hardwood flooring and oak benches. The entire courthouse is outlined in lights and comes alive in December each year when the Christmas ”Festival of Lights” is observed. Hundreds of tourists visit the area at that time of year.

300 N. Spruce St.
Searcy 72143
(501) 279-6200

County Judge
Michael Lincoln
Phone: (501) 279-6200
Fax: (501) 279-6233

County Clerk
Carla Ervin
Phone: (501) 279-6204
Fax: (501) 279-6260

County Circuit Clerk
Tami King
Phone: (501) 279-6203

County Sheriff
Ricky Shourd
Phone: (501) 279-6279
Fax: (501) 279-6287

County Treasurer
Janet Hibbitts
Phone: (501) 279-6202
Fax: (501) 279-6233

County Collector
Sue Liles
Phone: (501) 279-6206
Fax: (501) 279-6266

County Assessor
Gail Snyder
Phone: (501) 279-6208
Fax: (501) 279-6258

County Coroner
David Powell
Phone: (501) 268-7220
Fax: (501) 268-7244

Justices of the Peace
Horace Taylor, Bobby Burns, Cameron Cooper, Allen King, Jimmy House, Shane Sellers, Kenneth Horton, Layne "Boss" Vaughan, Mike Cleveland, Bobby G. Quattlebaum, Nathan Lincoln, Joel Pritchell, Ron Gibbs

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800

Guardian Pro RFID and AAC Risk Management Fund mitigate risks for Arkansas jails