Washington County

Washington County was formed by action of the Territorial Legislature in October 1828, from part of Crawford County and a tract known as Lovely’s Purchase. It was named for George Washington. The county seat was first called Washington, but since Hempstead County already had a Washington community, the name was changed to Fayetteville. A beautiful view of the courthouse rising above the U.S. courthouse and Fayetteville skyline can be seen from Mt. Sequoyah. The landscape of the county is flat-topped mountains and valleys with hardwood forests south and east, and rolling hills and prairie in the northwest. Washington is the second most populous county in Arkansas and one of the fastest growing. Essentially an urbanized county, Washington boasts a rich cultural life and amenities connected with metropolitan areas. Still, the county leads the state in dollar value of agricultural products produced annually, especially poultry and beef cattle. The economy is well balanced among agriculture, retail and service establishments, industry, and public institutions. The University of Arkansas is the largest single employer in the region. The university and the Walton Arts Center in Fayetteville and the Arts Center of the Ozarks in Springdale offer theatre, concerts, and other cultural events. Two museums — the University and the Shiloh — are in Springdale and are well-supported historical centers. Popular tourists' areas are Devil’s Den State Park, the White and Illinois rivers, and the Boston Mountains. The scenic spring woods bloom with dogwood, redbud, sarvis, and flaming fall foliage that draws visitors by the thousands. Many arts and crafts fairs are held in the area, also attracting thousands of visitors each year. Grape and apple festivals are annual events. The population of Washington County is 245,871 (2020 Census).

280 N. College Ave.
Fayetteville 72701

114 N. College Ave.
Fayetteville 72701
(479) 444-1700

County Judge
Patrick Deakins
280 N. College Ave., Suite 500
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Phone: (479) 444-1700
Fax: (479) 575-0385

County Clerk
Becky Lewallen
280 N. College Ave., Suite 300
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Phone: (479) 444-1711
Fax: (479) 444-1894

County Circuit Clerk
Kyle Sylvester
280 N. College Ave., Suite 302
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Phone: (479) 444-1538
Fax: (479) 444-1537

County Sheriff
Jay Cantrell
1155 Clydesdale Drive
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Phone: (479) 444-5700
Fax: (479) 444-5835

County Treasurer
Bobby Hill
280 N. College Ave., Suite 116
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Phone: (479) 444-1717
Fax: (479) 444-1782
Address: 280 N. College Ave., Suite 116, Fayetteville, 72701

County Collector
Angela Wood
280 N. College Ave., Suite 202
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Phone: (479) 444-1526
Fax: (479) 444-1881

County Assessor
Russell Hill
280 N. College Ave., Suite 250
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Phone: (479) 444-1519
Fax: (479) 444-1518

County Coroner
Roger M. Morris
2769 S. Brink Dr., Fayetteville, 72701
Phone: (479) 444-1730
Fax: (479) 444-1582

Justices of the Peace
Coleman Taylor, David Wilson, Sean M. Simons, Eddie Bowerman, Kyle Lyons, Lisa Ecke, Charles Dean, Shawndra Washington, Beth Coger, Robert Dennis, Suki Highers, Evelyn Rios Stafford, Willie Leming, Gary Ricker, Butch Pond

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800