Sevier County

Sevier County was created on October 17, 1828, by the Territorial Legislature from parts of Hempstead and Miller counties. It was named for Ambrose H. Sevier, a territorial delegate to Congress who was influential in winning statehood for Arkansas in 1836 and became Arkansas’ first U.S. senator. DeQueen is the county seat. The landscape of the county is rugged terrain in the extreme north and rolling hills in the south. The economic base of the county is made up of timber, poultry processing plants, livestock production, cattle, poultry, swine, and some light manufacturing. Sevier County also is known as the Land of the Lakes because it sits in the midst of a complex of reservoirs in both Arkansas and Oklahoma. Sevier County residents have water recreation within a half-hour’s drive in nearly any direction. DeQueen Lake is a clear, clean, mountain lake in the foothills of the Ouachita Mountains and offers swimming, water-skiing, diving, camping and fishing. Lake Millwood is well known as one of the best fishing lakes. Dierks Lake has fishing, boating, picnicking, camping, swimming and sightseeing. Five rivers and mountain streams touch or cross the county. The Cossatot River is well known for floating, kayaking, and bass fishing. The historical society’s museum covers the county’s early history from 1828 to 1940. The stately courthouse building also houses lots of the county’s history. Many visitors pass through Sevier County each year enjoying the scenic beauty and the many waters of the county.

115 N. Third St.
DeQueen 71832

(870) 642-2425

County Judge
Greg Ray
Phone: (870) 642-2425
Fax: (870) 642-8684

County Clerk
Debbie Hughes
Phone: (870) 642-2852
Fax: (870) 642-3896

County Circuit Clerk
Kathy Smith
Phone: (870) 584-3055
Fax: (870) 642-3119

County Sheriff
Robert Gentry
Phone: (870) 642-2125
Fax: (870) 642-3916

County Treasurer
Risa Krantz
Phone: (870) 642-2358
Fax: (870) 642-2358

County Collector
Robert Gentry
Phone: (870) 642-2127
Fax: (870) 642-9638

County Assessor
Judy Smith
Phone: (870) 584-3182
Fax: (870) 642-6938

County Coroner
Rusty Williams
Phone: (870) 584-8101
Fax: (870) 289-2015

Justices of the Peace
Earl Battist, Charles Keels, Roxy Stephens, David A. Wright, Roger Whitmore, Angie H. Walker, Michael Archer, Kenneth Currence, Greg Wright

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800

Guardian Pro RFID and AAC Risk Management Fund mitigate risks for Arkansas jails