Saline County

Saline County was formed on November 2, 1835, from parts of Pulaski and Hempstead counties. Its name comes from early salt works in the area that supplied salt to all of Arkansas and shipped salt to Tennessee, Louisiana, and east Texas. The salt sold for $1.50 per bushel. The county seat is Benton. The landscape of Saline County is hilly terrain in the north and rolling hills in the south. At one time Arkansas accounted for 97 percent of the country’s production of bauxite, used to make aluminum. Most of that came from Saline County. The ore was discovered in 1887. Ups and downs in the aluminum industry have caused more diversification, and small manufacturing and service companies have added to the economy of the county. The county seat is geographically in the center of the state and within minutes of metropolitan amenities. The population of Saline County is 123,416 (2020 Census). It enjoys small-town comfort along with national forest recreation and natural beauty. The Saline River runs through the county offering good fishing. The Gann Museum of Saline County is comprised of large bauxite boulders and contains a collection of antiques and memorabilia on the county’s history. The county courthouse, a stately southern building, was the setting for several scenes from the 1972 movie “White Lightning” starring Burt Reynolds. Many local residents were used as extras in the film.

200 N. Main St.
Benton 72015
(501) 303-5600

County Judge
Matthew Brumley
Phone: (501) 303-5640
Fax: (501) 303-5682
Address: 200 N. Main St., Room 117, Benton, 72015

County Clerk
Doug Curtis
Phone: (501) 303-5630
Fax: (501) 776-2412
Address: 215 N. Main St., Benton, 72015

County Circuit Clerk
Myka Bono Sample
Phone: (501) 303-5615
Fax: (501) 303-1592
Address: 200 N. Main St., Room 113, Benton, 72015

County Sheriff
Rodney Wright
Phone: (501) 303-5609
Fax: (501) 303-5747
Address: 735 Neeley St., Benton, 72015

County Treasurer
Holly Payne
Phone: (501) 303-5633
Fax: (501) 303-5634
Address: 215 N. Main St., Suite 8, Benton, 72015

County Collector
Jennifer Carter
Phone: (501) 303-5620
Fax: (501) 303-5619
Address: 215 N. Main St., Suite 3, Benton, 72015

County Assessor
Bob Ramsey
Phone: (501) 303-5622
Fax: (501) 303-5714
Address: 215 N.Main St., Benton 72015

County Coroner
Kevin Cleghorn
Phone: (501) 303-1559
Fax: (501) 303-1560
Address: 102 S. Main St., Level B, Benton, 72015

Justices of the Peace
Pat Bisbee, Everette Hatcher, Carlton Billingsley, Barbara Howell, Justin Rue, Rick Bellinger, Josh Curtis, Edward A. Albares, CJ Engel, Jim Whitley, Clint Chism, George Wyrick, Keith Keck

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800