Prairie County

Prairie County was formed on November 25,1846, and was named for its most obvious physical characteristics. The county lies on a spread of level land between the lower White and Arkansas rivers that is known as the Grand Prairie as early at 1819. The landscape is rich, flat, delta farmland, with rolling hills in the extreme northwest corner. The county has dual seats — Des Arc and DeValls Bluff. The economic base of the county is agriculture, cotton and rice, soybeans, wheat, and catfish, along with agriculture-related commerce and some industry. The scenic White River makes its way through the county, past both county seats, on its way to the Mississippi River. Near the center of the county, the 17,433-acre Wattensaw Wildlife Management Area spreads westward from the White River. Fishing, hunting and camping are popular in this area. In the north of the county are Cypress and Des Arc Bayous, Lake Des Arc, Spring and Horn Lakes and part of the Cache River; to the south are LA Grue Bayou and Peckerwood Lake, which covers 4,000 acres. All of these waterways offer good fishing and a wide variety of water recreation. The stately courthouse at Des Arc is a 1913 structure of Georgian architecture, and the courthouse at DeValls Bluff is a 1939 structure of Quasi-Georgian architecture. Both house early history of Prairie County.

200 Courthouse Square
Des Arc 72040

123 Magnolia St.
DeValls Bluff 72041

(870) 256-3741

County Judge
Mike Skarda
Phone: (870) 256-3741
Fax: (870) 256-3310

County Clerk/Circuit Clerk
Gaylon Hale
Des Arc Ph: (870) 256-4434
Des Arc Fax: (870) 256-4434
DeValls Bluff Ph: (870) 998-2314
DeValls Bluff Fax: (870) 998-2010

County Sheriff
Rick Hickman
Phone: (870) 256-4137
Fax: (870) 256-3367

County Treasurer
Tamara Dabney
Phone: (870) 256-4786
Fax: (870) 256-4786

County Collector
Rick Hickman
Phone: (870) 256-4137
Fax: (870) 256-3367

County Assessor
Jeannie Lott
Phone: (870) 256-4692

County Coroner
Byrum Kelly
Phone: (870) 255-3760
Fax: (870) 255-3772

Justices of the Peace
Ronnie Eans, Lawrence Holloway, Mary Sue Roe, Dennis Tipton, Gary King, Lucas Childress, Bobby Willeford, Doyle Sullins

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800

Guardian Pro RFID and AAC Risk Management Fund mitigate risks for Arkansas jails