Miller County

Miller County was created in April 1820, by the Territorial Legislature and abolished in 1838, to be recreated by the state General Assembly from a portion of Lafayette County in December 1874. It was named both times for James Miller, the first governor of Arkansas Territory. Texarkana is the county seat. Although Texarkana, Arkansas and Texarkana, Texas have separate governments under different states, they have always shared many commercial and cultural interests, which includes their U.S. Post Office, where you can stand with one foot in Arkansas and the other in Texas. The Arkansas portion of the post office is constructed of native limestone, and the Texas portion is constructed of granite. The county has a strong industrial community manufacturing area, along with the Red River Army Depot in Texarkana. The landscape of the county is rolling hills, largely forested. The Red River forms the northern and western boundaries and is a favorite place for fishing. The 17,000-acre Sulphur River Wildlife Management Area provides excellent duck hunting. The stately Miller County Courthouse holds a great deal of early history of the county. The land on which the courthouse stands was sold to the county for a nominal consideration by the railroad on condition that it be used for a courthouse. The population of Miller County is 42,600 (2020 Census).

400 Laurel St.
Texarkana 71854

(870) 774-1301

County Judge
Cathy Hardin Harrison
Phone: (870) 774-1301
Address: 400 Laurel St., Suite 115, Texarkana, 71854

County Clerk
Stephanie Harvin
Phone: (870) 774-1501
Address: 400 Laurel St., Suite 105, Texarkana, 71854

County Circuit Clerk
Penny Kilcrease
Phone: (870) 774-4501
Address: 400 Laurel St., Suite 109, Texarkana, 71854

County Sheriff
David Wayne Easley
Phone: (870) 774-3001
Fax: (870) 772-8703
Address: 2300 East St., Texarkana, 71854

County Treasurer
Teresa Reed
Phone: (870) 774-0003
Address: 400 Laurel St., Suite 104, Texarkana, 71854

County Collector
Laura Bates
Phone: (870) 774-1001
Address: 400 Laurel St., Suite 111, Texarkana, 71854

County Assessor
Joyce Dennington
Phone: (870) 774-1502
Address: 400 Laurel St., Suite 100, Texarkana, 71854

County Coroner
Kelly Rowland
Phone: (870) 621-4578
Address: 409 Hazel St., Texarkana, 71854

Justices of the Peace
Judy Wilson, Janet Green, Rick Hall, Jackie Rymer, Lois Toombs, Ernest Pender, Ron Stovall, Michael Rayburn, Howdy Smith, Jimmy Cowart, Rodney Watkins

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800