Johnson County

Johnson County was formed November 16, 1833, from Pope County and was named for Benjamin Johnson, one of Arkansas’ early jurists. The county seat of Clarksville was the location for the state’s first school for deaf children in 1851. It now is the site of the University of the Ozarks. The landscape is rugged terrain in the northern half and rolling farmlands, forested ridges, isolated mountains, and lakes in the southern half. The entire northern half of Johnson County is Ozark National Forest that has two wildlife management areas. Little and Big Piney Creeks in the northeast corner and White Rock in the northwest offer hunting, fishing, canoeing, hiking and camping. The southern half of the county is river valley farm country where peaches, cattle, vegetables, soybeans, and grains are grown. Diversified industry is scattered over the county. Johnson County has an annual Peach Festival that started back in 1936. Johnson County, with its mountains, rivers and forests, provides scenic beauty for every season. The population of Johnson County is 25,749 (2020 Census).

215 W. Main St.
Clarksville 72830

(479) 754-2175

County Judge
Herman Houston
Phone: (479) 754-2175
Fax: (479) 754-6098
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 278, Clarksville, 72830

County Clerk
Michelle Frost
Phone: (479) 754-3967
Fax: (479) 754-2286
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 57, Clarksville, 72830

County Circuit Clerk
Monica King
Phone: (479) 754-2977
Fax: (479) 754-4235
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 189, Clarksville, 72830

County Sheriff
Phone: (479) 754-7724
Fax: (479) 754-2200
Address: 301 Porter Industrial Rd., Clarksville, 72830

County Treasurer
Melanie "Fred" Cowell
Phone: (479) 754-3056
Fax: (479) 754-4730
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 344, Clarksville, 72830

County Collector
Melanie "Fred" Cowell
Phone: (479) 754-3056
Fax: (479) 754-4730
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 344, Clarksville, 72830

County Assessor
Rusty Hardgrave
Phone: (479) 754-3863
Fax: (479) 754-0178
Address: 108 S. Fulton, Clarksville, 72830

County Coroner
Pam Cogan
Phone: (479) 214-7068
Fax: (479) 647-3150
Address: 706 W. Main St., Clarksville, 72830

Justices of the Peace
Mike Jacobs, Paula Ober, Van Alan Hill, Bethany Bean, Mike Estes, John Payne, Kris Muldoon, Katie Howard, Larry Jones, Jeremy Hatchett, Bryan Cooper

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800