Hempstead County

Hempstead County was formed on December 15, 1818, from parts of Arkansas County. It was named for Edward Hempstead, Missouri Territory’s representative to Congress. Hempstead County was one of the first counties organized under the laws of the Territory of Missouri. The landscape is rolling hills. The economy is made up of food processing, poultry and egg production, along with beef cattle, soybeans and fruit. Each summer the Hope Watermelon Festival draws locals and tourists. The county has two Wildlife Management Areas, Bois D’Arc and Hope, along with Millwood Lake, which features camping, picnicking, and swimming as well as hunting and fishing. The town of Washington, which includes Old Washington State Park, holds alot of history for the county. It was a stopover for Sam Houston and Davy Crockett on their way to Texas and the Alamo. A Washington blacksmith made Jim Bowie’s famous knife, and such is still being crafted at the same site. The largest magnolia tree in Arkansas, planted in 1839, grows in Washington. Hope, the county seat, also is the hometown of President William Jefferson Clinton. His boyhood home has been restored and is open to the public. Hundreds of visitors pass through this town each year. The population of Hempstead County is 20,065 (2020 Census).

200 E. 3rd St.
Hope 71801

(870) 777-6164

County Judge
Jerry T. Crane
Phone: (870) 777-7800 ext. 100
Fax: (870) 777-7814
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1420, Hope, 71802

County Clerk
Karen Smith
Phone: (870) 777-2241
Fax: (870) 777-7829
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1420, Hope, 71801

County Circuit Clerk
Gail Wolfengarger
Phone: (870) 777-2384
Fax: (870) 777-7837
Mailing Address: 200 E.3rd St., Hope, 71802

County Sheriff
James Singleton
Phone: (870) 777-6727
Fax: (870) 777-1903
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 416, Hope, 71802

County Treasurer
Judy Lee Flowers
Phone: (870) 777-3141
Fax: (870) 777-7806
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1420, Hope, 71802

County Collector
James Singleton
Phone: (870) 777-4103
Fax: (870) 722-6110
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 549, Hope, 71802

County Assessor
Renee Gilbert
Phone: (870) 777-6190
Fax: (870) 777-7834
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1420, Hope, 71802

County Coroner
David W. Peters
Phone: (870) 703-7104
Fax: (870) 777-2425
Address: 3214 Patmos Rd., Hope, 71801

Justices of the Peace
James Griffin, Cherry Stewart, Doris Brown, Ed B. Darling, Scott Gunter, Troy K. Lerew, Sr., Steve Atchley, C. David Clayton, Jessie Henry, Jay Lathrop, B. Keith Steed

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800