Garland County

Garland County was formed on April 5, 1873, and was named for Augustus. H. Garland, governor of Arkansas, U.S. Senator, and President Glover Cleveland’s attorney general. Hot Springs, the county seat, has drawn visitors to the area for many years. The landscape of Garland County is rugged terrain and heavily forested Ouachita Mountains. In 1832, Hot Springs National Park became the first national reservation set aside for recreational purposes and is the only national park within a city. There are 47 springs along the base of the Hot Springs Mountain. The courthouse is the only one in Arkansas located in a national park. An act of the U.S. Congress was required to acquire part of the block where the courthouse stands. Recreation and tourism have always been mainstays of the county’s economy, along with livestock production and logging. One of the largest quartz crystal mining operations in North America is located in Garland County. The famous Oaklawn Park offers thoroughbred horse racing from February through April. Three lakes — Lake Ouachita, Lake Catherine and Lake Hamilton — all offer a full range of water sports and recreation facilities. The population of Garland County is 100,180 (2020 Census).

501 Ouachita St.
Hot Springs 71901

(501) 622-3600

County Judge
Darryl Mahoney
Phone: (501) 622-3600
Fax: (501) 622-3799
Address: 501 Ouachita Ave., Room 210, Hot Springs, 71901

County Clerk
Sarah Smith
Phone: (501) 622-3617
Fax: (501) 624-0665
Address: 501 Ouachita Ave. Room 103, Hot Springs, 71901

County Circuit Clerk
Kristie Womble-Hughes
Phone: (501) 622-3630
Fax: (501) 609-9043
Address: 501 Ouachita Ave., Suite 207, Hot Springs, 71901

County Sheriff
Mike McCormick
Phone: (501) 622-3660
Fax: (888) 862-3503
Address: 525 Ouachita Ave., Hot Springs, 71901

County Treasurer
Vivian Thomas
Office: (501) 710-3021
Fax: (888) 710-3021
Address: 501 Ouachita Ave., Suite 102, Hot Springs, 71901

County Collector
Rebecca D. Talbert
Phone: (501) 622-3710
Fax: (501) 622-3659
Address: 200 Woodbine, Room 108, Hot Springs, 71901

County Assessor
Shannon Sharp
Phone: (501) 622-3730
Fax: (501) 623-0250
Address: 200 Woodbine, Room 123, Hot Springs, 71901

County Coroner
Jayson Neighbors
Phone: (501) 622-3638
Fax: (888) 868-7841
Mailing Address: 501 Ouachita Ave., Room 210, Hot Springs, 71901

Justices of the Peace
Micah Braughton, Thomas J. Anderson, Esther M. Dixon, Jimmy Young, Linda Bright, Ray Owen, Jr., VACANT, Jason Braziel, Brian Peters, Debbie McGrew, Ronald T. Hunter, Jeremy W. Brown, Larry Raney

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800