Desha County

Desha County was formed December 12, 1838, and was named for Capt. Ben Desha. Moving away from the Mississippi and its floods, the county seat has been in four different locations. The landscape of the county is rich, flat, delta farmland. The Mississippi River forms the eastern boundary. The county seat is Arkansas City. Desha County lies at the convergence of three of North America’s major rivers: the White, the Arkansas and the Mississippi, which provide the county with waterway connections from New Orleans to Tulsa. Railways, waterways, and the rich agricultural resources have made Desha County a major grain shipping and storage center. Desha County, along with Chicot County, has a $3.9 million port and industrial park at Yellow Bend on the Mississippi. Arkansas City is a survivor of the steamboat era, and the Arkansas City courthouse is one of the oldest still in operation in the state. The White River Wildlife Refuge offers sanctuary for migratory waterfowl. The longest levee in the United States is located in Desha County on the Mississippi River. The population of Desha County is 11,395 (2020 Census).

608 Robert S. Moore St.
Arkansas City 71630

(870) 877-7242

County Judge
Richard Tindall
Phone: (870) 222-0990
Fax: (870) 877-3413
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 188, Arkansas City, 71630

County Clerk
Valerie Donaldson
Phone: (870) 222-0870
Fax: (870) 877-3413
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 218, Arkansas City, 71630

County Circuit Clerk
Kristen N. Christmas
Phone: (870) 222-0930
Fax: (870) 877-3407
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 309, Arkansas City, 71630

County Sheriff
Mitch Grant
Phone: (870) 877-2580
Fax: (870) 877-3406
Address: 604 President St., Arkansas City, 71630

County Treasurer
Shirley Snow Kozubski
Phone: (870) 222-0875
Fax: (870) 877-3413
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 355, Arkansas City, 71630

County Collector
Lisa Hutchison
Phone: (870) 877-2525
Fax: (870) 877-3402
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 428, Arkansas City, 71630

County Assessor
Jessica Ferguson
Phone: (870) 222-0927
Fax: (870) 877-3408
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 366, Arkansas City, 71630

County Coroner
Jamie Evans
Phone: (870) 501-3005
Fax: (870) 397-9300
Address: P.O. Box 1055, McGehee, 71654

Justices of the Peace
Troy Jackson Jr., Lynn Weatherford, Patricia Watkins, Ricky Helton, Hollis Mankin, Ken Holt Jr., Rita K. Kolb, Dollie Ann Wilson, Norris Sims

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800