Pulaski County, 5 cities, draw up jail deal

25% rise in 2020 cost-sharing plan

By Rachel Herzog
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette

Five Pulaski County cities have reached a tentative agreement with County Judge Barry Hyde on a cost-sharing plan to fund the jail in 2020.

The mayors of Little Rock, North Little Rock, Maumelle, Sherwood and Jacksonville have each agreed to increase their jail-funding contracts by 25% next year, officials said Monday.

Little Rock Mayor Frank Scott Jr. brokered the deal over the weekend and said the other mayors had agreed to it by Sunday night, two days before the cities were scheduled to address the Pulaski County Quorum Court about the issue at tonight's meeting.

The agreement reached by Scott and Hyde saves the cities potentially millions in overall costs. That is particularly important for smaller cities such as Sherwood, which would have seen its payment rise from $142,704 in 2019 to an estimated $473,637 in 2020.

Hyde and the mayors have been at odds over a 2018 Pulaski County Quorum Court ordinance that addresses how cities within the county are billed for using the jail. The mayors raised concerns about how the cities' estimated payment increases were calculated.

"We understand moving forward that our jail funding is going to increase," Scott said. "We just want to make sure that we all agree on the accuracy of the numbers." READ MORE.

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800

Guardian Pro RFID and AAC Risk Management Fund mitigate risks for Arkansas jails