Lawrence County receives unpaved roads grant award

County received $30,000 to improve unpaved roads

The Times Dispatch

Gov. Asa Hutchinson, Arkansas Economic Development Commission Executive Director Mike Preston, AEDC VP Operations Amy Fecher and AEDC Division of Rural Services Director Alex Johnston presented $331,179 to seven Arkansas counties at an awards ceremony on May 24 at the Marriott Hotel in Little Rock.

The counties were selected for funding through the fiscal year 2018 Arkansas Unpaved Roads Grant Program.

Lawrence County received $30,000 in matching funds to install culverts to improve creek crossings at County Roads 201 and 204.

The Division of Rural Services works in partnership with the Arkansas Rural Development Commission to administer the Unpaved Roads Program. Created by Act 898 of the 90th General Assembly, the purpose of the Unpaved Roads Program is to create a better unpaved county road system with a reduced negative environmental impact on priority water resources in Arkansas. Read more.

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800

Guardian Pro RFID and AAC Risk Management Fund mitigate risks for Arkansas jails