Monroe County

Monroe County was created on November 2, 1829, by the Territorial Legislature from portions of Arkansas and Phillips counties. It was named for James Monroe, fifth president of the United States and author of the “Monroe Doctrine.” Clarendon is the county seat. The landscape is rich, flat, delta farmland. The economy is agriculture, soybeans, cotton, rice, and wheat with some small manufacturing. Interstate 40 passes through the county. Lake Greenlee, a rectangular lake enclosed by a four-sided levee; Green and East lakes, backwater lakes; and Maddox Bay offer excellent fishing. The Cache River runs through the county with Dagmar Wildlife Management Area providing hunting. In the southwestern part of the county, the scenic White River runs through the White River National Wildlife Management Area and provides great boating and fishing and is home to virtually every wild bird and animal found in the southern United States. Clarendon, known until 1837 as Mouth-of-the-Cache or White River Crossing, has 22 structures listed in the National Historical Register. The town square has been used several times as a movie set. The courthouse, which dates back to 1829, was a sanctuary for hundreds of persons who sought refuge in the upper floors while awaiting rescue by boats. After the flood, church services and community activities were held in the courthouse while community flood damage was repaired. In spite of the flood, the original oak furniture remains in the elegant courtroom, which has a dome skylight of richly colored stained glass. The population of Monroe County is 6,799 (2020 Census).

123 Madison St.
Clarendon 72029

(870) 747-3921

County Judge
Larry Taylor
Phone: (870) 747-3921
Fax: (870) 747-5910
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 222, Clarendon, 72029

County Clerk
Tina Wofford
Phone: (870) 747-3632
Fax: (870) 747-5961
Address: 123 Madison St., Clarendon, 72029

County Circuit Clerk
Alice Smith
Phone: (870) 747-3615
Fax: (870) 747-3710
Address: 123 Madison St., Clarendon, 72029

County Sheriff
Michael Neal
Phone: (870) 747-3811
Fax: (870) 747-3674
Address: 200 South Main St., Clarendon, 72029

County Treasurer
Steve Mitchell
Phone: (870) 747-3722
Fax: (870) 747-3708
Address: 123 Madison St., Clarendon, 72029

County Collector
Steve Mitchell
Phone: (870) 747-3819
Fax: (870) 747-5244
Address: 123 Madison St., Clarendon, 72029

County Assessor
Renee Neal
Phone: (870) 747-3847
Fax: (870) 747-5907
Address: 123 Madison St., Clarendon, 72029

County Coroner
Bob Neal
Phone: (870) 734-1211
Fax: (870) 734-1216
Address: 300 W. Hemlock, Brinkley, 72021

Justices of the Peace
Cathy Shelton, Jeffery Lovell, Michael Freeman, Kenneth Harvey, Ryan Medford, James Boston, Gary Neal, Doug Mayhue, Franklin Davis

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800

Guardian Pro RFID and AAC Risk Management Fund mitigate risks for Arkansas jails