Counties

Washington County

Washington County was formed by action of the Territorial Legislature in October 1828, from part of Crawford County and a tract known as Lovely’s Purchase. It was named for George Washington. The county seat was first called Washington, but since Hempstead County already had a Washington community, the name was changed to Fayetteville. A beautiful view of the courthouse rising above the U.S. courthouse and Fayetteville skyline can be seen from Mt. Sequoyah. The landscape of the county is flat-topped mountains and valleys with hardwood forests south and east, and rolling hills and prairie in the northwest. Washington is the second most populous county in Arkansas and one of the fastest growing. Essentially an urbanized county, Washington boasts a rich cultural life and amenities connected with metropolitan areas. Still, the county leads the state in dollar value of agricultural products produced annually, especially poultry and beef cattle. The economy is well balanced among agriculture, retail and service establishments, industry, and public institutions. The University of Arkansas is the largest single employer in the region. The university and the Walton Arts Center in Fayetteville and the Arts Center of the Ozarks in Springdale offer theatre, concerts, and other cultural events. Two museums — the University and the Shiloh — are in Springdale and are well-supported historical centers. Popular tourists' areas are Devil’s Den State Park, the White and Illinois rivers, and the Boston Mountains. The scenic spring woods bloom with dogwood, redbud, sarvis, and flaming fall foliage that draws visitors by the thousands. Many arts and crafts fairs are held in the area, also attracting thousands of visitors each year. Grape and apple festivals are annual events.

280 N. College Ave.
Fayetteville 72701

114 N. College Ave.
Fayetteville 72701
(479) 444-1700
www.co.washington.ar.us

County Judge
Joseph Wood
Phone: (479) 444-1700
Fax: (479) 575-0385
joseph.wood@co.washington.ar.us

County Clerk
Becky Lewallen
Phone: (479) 444-1711
Fax: (479) 444-1894
blewallen@co.washington.ar.us

County Circuit Clerk
Kyle Sylvester
Phone: (479) 444-1538
Fax: (479) 444-1537
ksylvester@co.washington.ar.us

County Sheriff
Tim Helder
Phone: (479) 444-5700
Fax: (479) 444-5784
thelder@co.washington.ar.us

County Treasurer
Bobby Hill
Phone: (479) 444-1717
Fax: (479) 444-1782
bhill@co.washington.ar.us

County Collector
Angela Wood
Phone: (479) 444-1526
Fax: (479) 444-1881
angela.wood@co.washington.ar.us

County Assessor
Russell Hill
Phone: (479) 444-1519
Fax: (479) 444-1518
rhill@co.washington.ar.us

County Coroner
Roger Morris
Phone: (479) 444-1730
Fax: (479) 444-1582
rmorris@co.washington.ar.us

Justices of the Peace
Tom Lundstrum, H. Roddy Lloyd, Harvey Bowman, Bill Ussery, Joe Patterson, Lisa Ecke, Alicia Deavens, Daniel W. Balls, Eva Madison, Robert Dennis, Joseph Kieklak, Sue Madison, Joel Maxwell, Ann Harbison, Butch Pond

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800

Guardian Pro RFID and AAC Risk Management Fund mitigate risks for Arkansas jails