Counties

Saline County

Saline County was formed on November 2, 1835, from parts of Pulaski and Hempstead counties. Its name comes from early salt works in the area that supplied salt to all of Arkansas and shipped salt to Tennessee, Louisiana, and east Texas. The salt sold for $1.50 per bushel. The county seat is Benton. The landscape of Saline County is hilly terrain in the north and rolling hills in the south. At one time Arkansas accounted for 97 percent of the country’s production of bauxite, used to make aluminum. Most of that came from Saline County. The ore was discovered in 1887. Ups and downs in the aluminum industry have caused more diversification, and small manufacturing and service companies have added to the economy of the county. The county seat is geographically in the center of the state and within minutes of metropolitan amenities. It enjoys small-town comfort along with national forest recreation and natural beauty. The Saline River runs through the county offering good fishing. The Gann Museum of Saline County is comprised of large bauxite boulders and contains a collection of antiques and memorabilia on the county’s history. The county courthouse, a stately southern building, was the setting for several scenes from the 1972 movie “White Lightning” starring Burt Reynolds. Many local residents were used as extras in the film.

200 N. Main St.
Benton 72015
(501) 303-5600
www.salinecounty.org

County Judge
Jeff Arey
Phone: (501) 303-5640
Fax: (501) 303-5682
jeff.arey@salinecounty.org

County Clerk
Doug Curtis
Phone: (501) 303-5630
Fax: (501) 776-2412
doug.curtis@salinecounty.org

County Circuit Clerk
Myka Sample
Phone: (501) 303-5615
Fax: (501) 303-1592
myka.sample@salinecounty.org

County Sheriff
Rodney Wright
Phone: (501) 303-5609
Fax: (501) 303-5747
rwright@scsosheriff.org

County Treasurer
Larry Davis
Phone: (501) 303-5633
Fax: (501) 303-5634
larry.davis@salinecounty.org

County Collector
Joy Ballard
Phone: (501) 303-5620
Fax: (501) 303-5619
joy.ballard@salinecollector.org

County Assessor
Bob Ramsey
Phone: (501) 303-5622
Fax: (501) 303-5714
bob@salineassessor.org

County Coroner
Kevin Cleghorn
Phone: (501) 303-1559
Fax: (501) 303-1560
coroner@salinecounty.org

Justices of the Peace
Pat Bisbee, Everette Hatcher, Steve Gladden, Barbara Howell, John Kimbrough, Tammy D. Schmidt, Josh Curtis, Edward A. Albares, David Gibson, Jim Whitley, Dawn Creekmore, J.R. Walters, James Zahnd

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800

Guardian Pro RFID and AAC Risk Management Fund mitigate risks for Arkansas jails