Counties

Little River County

Little River County celebrated its 150th birthday in March 2017. The county was formed on March 5, 1867, and was named for the river forming its northern and eastern boundaries. Ashdown is the county seat. The landscape of Little River County is rolling, pine-covered hills. The economy of the county is primarily made up of timberland that has a large variety of hardwoods and rapid- growth pine timber. Agricultural activities include ranching, pecans, soybeans, peanuts, and rice. Millwood Dam located on the Little River was originally built for flood control. The average depth of the lake is eight feet, with 20,000 acres of submerged timber that brings bass fishermen from far and near. This area is home to the bald eagle and mallard ducks and also provides habitat for the American alligator. Recreational facilities for camping, swimming, and picnicking are very poplar. Rich history abounds. The Will Reed Farmhouse, a restored pioneer cabin at Alleene gives visitors a glimpse of how early settlers lived. Cerrogordo (big hill) was an Indian trading post and stop on the trail west. Spaniards mining salt deposits in the 1700’s gave it the name. The county courthouse, with its octagonal dome rising above the two-story red brick building, houses lots of history. The courthouse is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

351 N. Second
Ashdown 71822

(870) 898-7202

County Judge
Mike Cranford
Phone: (870) 898-7202
Fax: (870) 898-4537
mcranford@lrcounty.com

County Clerk
Deanna Sivley
Phone: (870) 898-7208
Fax: (870) 898-2860
dsivley@lrcounty.com

County Circuit Clerk
Lauren Abney
Phone: (870) 898-7212
Fax: (870) 898-5783
labney@lrcounty.com

County Sheriff
Bobby Walraven
Phone: (870) 898-5115
Fax: (870) 898-7260
bwalraven@lrcounty.com

County Treasurer
Dayna Guthrie
Phone: (870) 898-7215
Fax: (870) 898-7207
dguthrie@lrcounty.com

County Collector
Bobby Walraven
Phone: (870) 898-7217
Fax: (870) 898-7241
bwalraven@lrcounty.com

County Assessor
Allie Rosenbaum
Phone: (870) 898-7204
Fax: (870) 898-7201
arosenbaum@lrcounty.com

County Coroner
Roddy Smith, III
Phone: (870) 898-3331
Fax: (870) 898-4767
rsmith@lrcounty.com

Justices of the Peace
Al Austin, Larry Cowling, Keith Pullen, Billy Bob Pounds, Chuck Davis, Gene Smithson, Charles Henderson, Phillip Penny, Robert Furlow

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800

Guardian Pro RFID and AAC Risk Management Fund mitigate risks for Arkansas jails