Counties

Garland County

Garland County was formed on April 5, 1873, and was named for Augustus. H. Garland, governor of Arkansas, U.S. Senator, and President Glover Cleveland’s attorney general. Hot Springs, the county seat, has drawn visitors to the area for many years. The landscape of Garland County is rugged terrain and heavily forested Ouachita Mountains. In 1832, Hot Springs National Park became the first national reservation set aside for recreational purposes and is the only national park within a city. There are 47 springs along the base of the Hot Springs Mountain. The courthouse is the only one in Arkansas located in a national park. An act of the U.S. Congress was required to acquire part of the block where the courthouse stands. Recreation and tourism have always been mainstays of the county’s economy, along with livestock production and logging. One of the largest quartz crystal mining operations in North America is located in Garland County. The famous Oaklawn Park offers thoroughbred horse racing from February through April. Three lakes — Lake Ouachita, Lake Catherine and Lake Hamilton — all offer a full range of water sports and recreation facilities.

501 Ouachita St.
Hot Springs 71901

(501) 622-3600
www.garlandcounty.org

County Judge
Rick Davis
Phone: (501) 622-3600
Fax: (501) 622-3799
rdavis@garlandcounty.org

County Clerk
Sarah Smith
Phone: (501) 622-3610
Fax: (501) 624-0665
sasmith@garlandcounty.org

County Circuit Clerk
Jeannie Pike
Phone: (501) 622-3630
Fax: (501) 609-9043
jpike@garlandcounty.org

County Sheriff
Mike McCormick
Phone: (501) 622-3630
Fax: (888) 862-3503
mmccormick@garlandcounty.org

County Treasurer
Tim Stockdale
Phone: (501) 622-3650
Fax: (501) 622-3788
tstockdale@garlandcounty.org
tim.stockdale.ts@gmail.com

County Collector
Rebecca Talbert
Phone: (501) 622-3710
Fax: (501) 622-3659
rtalbert@garlandcounty.org

County Assessor
Shannon Sharp
Phone: (501) 622-3730
Fax: (501) 623-3739
ssharp@garlandcounty.org

County Coroner
Stuart Smedley
Phone: (501) 622-3638
Fax: (501) 622-3639
coroner@garlandcounty.org

Justices of the Peace
David T. Reagan, Thomas Anderson, Denise Marion, Jimmy Young, John Horner, Ray Owen Jr., John Faulkner, Jason Braziel, Matt McKee, Drew Hudgens, Larry Griffin, Darryl Mahoney, Larry Raney

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800

Guardian Pro RFID and AAC Risk Management Fund mitigate risks for Arkansas jails