Counties

Crawford County

Crawford County was the largest county in Arkansas when it was established in 1820. Originally, Crawford County included part of eight counties, as well as part of the Indian Territory. Crawford County is rugged terrain from the Ozark Mountains in the northern half and rolling farmlands, forested ridges and isolated mountains and lakes in the southern half. Van Buren is the county seat. The main economic base of the county is agriculture and affiliated industries, soybeans, fruit and vegetables, beef cattle and poultry. Tourism is growing steadily with the lakes, rivers, mountains, valleys and the scenic views. Crawford County's courthouse is listed in the National Historic Register and thought to be the oldest active county courthouse west of the Mississippi River. The original portion of the courthouse was constructed in 1842. People are attracted to historic downtown Van Buren, which has six blocks of restored architecture, including arts, crafts and antique shops. Several motion pictures have been filmed in Van Buren. Crawford County's 2010 census count was 61,948.

300 Main St.
Van Buren 72956

(479) 474-1511
www.crawford-county.org

County Judge
Dennis Gilstrap
Phone: (479) 474-1511
Fax: (479) 471-3201
dgilstrap@crawford-county.org

County Clerk
Teresa Armer
Phone: (479) 474-1312
Fax: (479) 471-3236
tarmer@crawford-county.org

County Circuit Clerk
Sharon Blount-Baker
Phone: (479) 474-1821
Fax: (479) 471-0622
sblountbaker@crawford-county.org

County Sheriff
Ron Brown
Phone: (479) 474-2261
Fax: (479) 471-3232
rbrown@crawford-county.org

County Treasurer
Beverly Pyle
Phone: (479) 474-6641
Fax: (479) 474-5072
brpyle@crawford-county.org

County Collector
Kevin Pixley
Phone: (479) 474-1111
Fax: (479) 471-3239
kpixley@crawford-county.org

County Assessor
Sandra Heiner
Phone: (479) 474-1751
Fax: (479) 474-3225
sheiner@crawford-county.org

County Coroner
Pamela Wells
Phone: (479) 806-5959
Fax: (479) 632-5656
coroner@cox.net

Justices of the Peace
Jason Cox, Shane Griffin, David Rofkahr, Rebecca Cole, Raymond Harvey, Mark Shaffer, Mary Jan Blount, Tia Woodruff, Stanley Clark, Jayson Peppas, Carrie Jernigan, Elaina Damante, Debbie Atwell

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800

Guardian Pro RFID and AAC Risk Management Fund mitigate risks for Arkansas jails